N.C. Budget Bill Threatens Rights of Injured Workers

Posted on 1 Comment

The N.C. General Assembly has until June 30, the end of the fiscal year, to pass a state budget.

As the budget vote comes down to the wire, we need you to contact your state legislators TODAY to make sure they don’t approve a budget that would jeopardize the rights of injured workers by allowing the governor to fire every workers’ compensation judge for no reason!

That’s exactly what will happen if the state budget passes with a particular provision intact.

Section 15.1.6(b) of the budget bill would dramatically change the terms of deputy commissioners on the N.C. Industrial Commission. The Senate budget provides for four-year terms for deputy commissioners with a limit of two terms. The House budget provides for eight-year terms without term limitations. 

Both bills would allow every sitting deputy commissioner to be fired within 18 months and replaced with politically biased appointees.

Big business and insurance companies have been trying to get rid of North Carolina’s workers’ comp judges for more than a year. They’ve backed at least two bills that would have allowed the governor to fire judges at will and replace them with pro-business judges who wouldn’t look out for the rights of injured workers.

State legislators listened to voters and struck down those proposed laws! But now, big-business interests are trying to find a back door way to get rid of fair-minded workers’ comp judges by inserting this provision into the state budget.

It’s a complicated political game.

But the message is simple:

It is wrong to fire every single workers’ compensation judge for no reason.

We need for you to call and email members of the state budget conference committee today and tell them how you feel: “Don’t make the Industrial Commission more political. Please oppose Section 15.1.6(b) of the budget bill.”

You’ll find a list of the 2014 Budget Conference Committee Members below. If you live in any of these districts, please call and email your legislators TODAY before they vote on the state budget!

2014 Budget Conference Committee

Rep. Nelson Dollar, Chair (R)
Cary/Wake; 919-233-8399; [email protected]

Rep. Linda P. Johnson, Chair (R)
Kannapolis/Cabarrus; 919-733-5861; [email protected]
Rep. Bryan R. Holloway, Chair (R)
King/Rockingham/Stokes; 919-733-5609; [email protected]
Rep. Justin P. Burr, Chair (R)
Albemarle/Montgomery/Stanly; 919-733-5908; [email protected]
Rep. Pat McElraft (R)
Emerald Isle/Carteret/Jones; 919-733-6275; [email protected]
Rep. D. Craig Horn (R)
Weddington/Union; 919-733-2406; [email protected]
Rep. Chuck McGrady (R)
Hendersonville/Henderson;919-733-5956; [email protected]
Rep. Hugh Blackwell(R)
Valdese/Burke;919-733-5805; [email protected]
Rep. Marilyn Avila(R)
Raleigh/Wake; 919-733-5530; [email protected]
Rep. Mark W. Hollo(R)
Taylorsville/Alexander,Wilkes,Yadkin;919-715-8261; [email protected]
Rep. Donny Lambeth(R)
Winston-Salem/Forsyth; 919-733-5747; [email protected]

Rep. William D. Brisson(D)
Dublin/Bladen, Johnston, Sampson; 919-733-5772; [email protected]
Rep. Roger West(R)
Marble/Cherokee, Clay, Graham, Macon; 919-733-5859; [email protected]
Rep. Tom Murry(R)
Morrisville/Wake; 919-733-5602; [email protected]
Rep. N. Leo Daughtry(R)
Smithfield/Johnston; 919-733-5605; [email protected]
Rep. James L. Boles, Jr.(R)
southern pines/ Moore; 919-733-5903; [email protected]
Rep. John Faircloth(R)
High Point/Guilford; 919-733-5877; [email protected]
Rep. Pat B. Hurley(R)
Asheboro/Randolph; 919-733-5865; [email protected]
Rep. George G. Cleveland(R)
Jacksonville/Onslow; 919-715-6707; [email protected]
Rep. Rayne Brown(R)
Lexington/Davidson; 919-715-0873; [email protected]
Rep. John A. Torbett(R)
Stanely/Gaston; 919-733-5868; [email protected]
Rep. Phil Shepard(R)
Jacksonville/Onslow; 919-715-9644; [email protected]
Rep. Jason Saine(R)
Lincolnton/Lincoln; 919-733-5782; [email protected]
Rep. David R. Lewis(R)
Dunn/Harnett; 919-715-3015; [email protected]
Rep. Tim Moore(R)
Kings Mountain/Cleveland; 919-733-4838; [email protected]
Sen. Harry Brown, Chair(R)
Jacksonville/jones,Onslow; (919) 715-3034; [email protected]
Sen. Tom Apodaca(R)
Hendersonville/Buncombe, Henderson, Transylvania; (919) 733-5745; [email protected]
Sen. Phil Berger(R)
Eden/Guilford, Rockingham; (919) 733-5708; [email protected]
Sen. Andrew C. Brock(R)
Raleigh/Davie, Iredell, Rowan; (919) 715-0690; [email protected]
Sen. Kathy Harrington(R)
Gastonia/Gaston; (919) 733-5734; [email protected]
Sen. Ralph Hise(R)
Spruce Pine/Madison, McDowell, Mitchell, Polk, Rutherford, Yancey; (919) 733-3460; [email protected]
Sen. Neal Hunt(R)
Raleigh/Wake; (919) 733-5850; [email protected]
Sen. Brent Jackson(R)
Autryville/ Duplin, Johnston, Sampson; (919) 733-5705; [email protected]
Sen. Wesley Meredith(R)
Fayetteville/Cumberland; (919) 733-5776; [email protected]
Sen. Louis Pate(R)
Mount Olive/ Lenoir, Pitt, Wayne; (919) 733-5621; [email protected]
Sen. Bill Rabon(R)
Southport/Bladen, Brunswick, New Hanover, Pender; (919) 733-5963; [email protected]
Sen. Shirley B. Randleman(R)
Wilkesboro/Stokes, Surry, Wilkes; (919) 733-5743; [email protected]
Sen. Bob Rucho(R)
Raleigh/Mecklenburg; (919) 733-5655; [email protected]
Sen. Dan Soucek(R)
Raleigh/Alleghany, Ashe, Avery, Caldwell, Watauga; (919) 733-5742; [email protected]
Sen. Jerry W. Tillman(R)
Archdale/Moore, Randolph; (919) 733-5870; [email protected]

Sen. Tommy Tucker(R)
Waxhaw/Union; (919) 733-7659; [email protected]

One Response

  1. […] until June 30 to pass a state budget. If you haven’t already done so, call AND email these key legislators about this […]

Leave a Reply